Standard Tab?

orsonk

Standard Tab?

Postby orsonk » Fri May 15, 2015 2:50 pm

I'm new to CintaNotes, just trying out the free version right now, having used OneNote and Evernote a lot (as well as Zoot).

I was surprised at how the Tab key works, jumping me down to the Tag field.

And the closest thing to using the Tab key is pressing Ctrl+Tab, which then becomes a "permanent" indent.

There is no way to produce the common tab indent as in most word processors -- am I correct? (Could not find it among the keyboard shortcuts.)

In many ways this is clearly a very well thought-out software product -- plenty of attention to detail -- which is partly why I'm surprised at missing this one thing I expect in virtually any note-taking application.

Have other users had similar reactions? Did you just get accustomed to the way CintaNotes works after awhile? Are there valid reasons for NOT having such a command?

Thanks for any feedback from experienced users. Like I said, I'm impressed in many ways by the quality of this tool.

Orson
Thomas Lohrum

Re: Standard Tab?

Postby Thomas Lohrum » Fri May 15, 2015 6:53 pm

Hi orsonk,

welcome to the forum and to CintaNotes as well. Personally i never missed the tab-key. I find its usage very convenient, as well as most of CN's functionality. Yes, i am a big CN fan. :)

Thomas
CintaNotes Developer
Site Admin

Postby CintaNotes Developer » Mon May 18, 2015 10:08 am

Hi Orson,

Thanks for your kind words and for a good question!

You 're right - pressing Ctrl+Tab in the begging of a paragraph will indent the whole
paragraph.
There's way to insert the Tab character, but you won't like it - you can Ctrl+V it there
from some other place (pressing Ctrl+Tab in the end of a line inserts regular tab character).

However I'd like to know why paragraph indents are not good for you.
When you copy and paste into notepad, they get autoconverted to spaces - it that what's
bothering you?