[Ann] CintaNotes 3.10 Beta 1

User avatar
CintaNotes Developer
Site Admin
Posts: 4599
Joined: Fri Dec 12, 2008 4:45 pm
Contact:

[Ann] CintaNotes 3.10 Beta 1

Postby CintaNotes Developer » Sun Aug 20, 2017 10:02 am

Aug 20, 2017 - Version 3.10 Beta 1

In this version:

Features:

  • (PRO) Wildcard-based search
    Added "Use * and ? wildcards" option to the search box menu:
    Image

    "?" wildcard means "any one character".
    "*" wildcard means "zero or more of any characters".

  • (PRO) Wildcards support in Rules
    Once you select a "contains" or "contains all" operators (or their negative counterparts),
    a "Use * and ? wildcards" checkbox will appear:
    Image

  • Wildcards support in Find/Replace dialog in editor
    Image
Enhancements:
  • Duplicate title elimination on clipping
    If the first non-empty line of the note is also present in the title, it is removed.
  • Added Options/Window menu entries to control window docking
Fixes:
  • Regression: clipping from IE or CHM files inserts raw HTML

Download:
Installable: CintaNotes_3_10_Beta1_Setup.exe
Portable: CintaNotes_3_10_Beta1.zip

WARNING! BETA SOFTWARE! USE AT OWN RISK, AND ALWAYS BACKUP YOUR DATA FIRST!

Would be very grateful for your feedback. This is a tricky feature with a lot of edge cases, so your help would be invaluable.
Huge thanks in advance!

Oh, and one more thing. Since we now have wildcards, we can finally replace the uncommon "Search inside words" option with a more common "Whole words only". Wanted to ask if you think it would be a good idea or not?
Alex
RSchiaffino
Posts: 82
Joined: Thu Aug 16, 2012 5:36 pm
Contact:

Re: [Ann] CintaNotes 3.10 Beta 1

Postby RSchiaffino » Sun Aug 20, 2017 5:13 pm

"Oh, and one more thing. Since we now have wildcards, we can finally replace the uncommon "Search inside words" option with a more common "Whole words only". Wanted to ask if you think it would be a good idea or not?"

I think that would be a good idea, yes... if only because it would be clearer what it means.

Good thing you are adding the wildcards: they are going to be very useful. Any plan for (in future versions), expand this to the use of actual regular expressions?
date
Posts: 234
Joined: Sat Aug 01, 2015 5:15 am
Contact:

Re: [Ann] CintaNotes 3.10 Beta 1

Postby date » Sun Aug 20, 2017 9:09 pm

CintaNotes Developer wrote:Added "Use * and ? wildcards" option to the search box menu:
Highlighting in the main screen does not work when only one character has been typed.
When the note contains the text -> 09/html : example <-, 9*e does not find the note, both the main screen and the note window. (But it did find other notes containing something with 9 --> e.)
In the note edit window specifically, if the note contains just the word -> example <-, 'Find Next' will not find anything when you search for 'e.' 'Find Before' finds only the last 'e.' (With wildcards and 'in words' selected.)
In another note, which I can't find anymore this quickly, it would find occurences with 'Find Next' until the end, and then stop, while 'Find Previous' would continue from the end to the start and again continuously.
But in general, it appears to work very well.

Since this version (after 3.9 b2) I can't clip anymore as it inserts plain html. I use Firefox 50, but I briefly tried Vivaldi, and it appears the clipping really is broken. :cry: Unselecting one of 'retain rtf' or 'retain html' did not help. (Except for not clipping with links of course.)

Since we now have wildcards, we can finally replace the uncommon "Search inside words" option with a more common "Whole words only".
I don't understand completely, but it sounds like a bad idea. 'Whole words only' means it will not find anything until after the whole word has been typed. 'Search inside words' otoh is plain and simple english?
There's also the option 'search across boundaries.' It's function is difficult to grasp, and the performance benefit when turned off is minimal to non-existent. If it's faster, is't faster at not finding anything. I'd rather suggest removing that one and make it the standard behavior.
Thomas Lohrum
Posts: 1302
Joined: Tue Mar 08, 2011 11:15 am

Re: [Ann] CintaNotes 3.10 Beta 1

Postby Thomas Lohrum » Sun Aug 20, 2017 9:26 pm

date wrote:There's also the option 'search across boundaries.' It's function is difficult to grasp, and the performance benefit when turned off is minimal to non-existent.

It's fundamental to me. It does find text not only in title and body, but also in tags!
date
Posts: 234
Joined: Sat Aug 01, 2015 5:15 am
Contact:

Re: [Ann] CintaNotes 3.10 Beta 1

Postby date » Sun Aug 20, 2017 9:45 pm

Thomas Lohrum wrote:It's fundamental to me. It does find text not only in title and body, but also in tags!
Only when it is turned on, across multiple notes. Turning it off (like how it is by default) has no benefit that I know of. So I meant, 'on' as a standard.

edit: across multiple fields with multiple search terms. See, it is a really difficult concept :)
User avatar
CintaNotes Developer
Site Admin
Posts: 4599
Joined: Fri Dec 12, 2008 4:45 pm
Contact:

Re: [Ann] CintaNotes 3.10 Beta 1

Postby CintaNotes Developer » Tue Aug 22, 2017 11:15 am

Hi guys, thanks a lot for taking a look!

RSchiaffino wrote:I think that would be a good idea, yes... if only because it would be clearer what it means.

Got it, thanks!

Good thing you are adding the wildcards: they are going to be very useful. Any plan for (in future versions), expand this to the use of actual regular expressions?

Probably. The question here is - what should be the scope of the regex? Currently all search terms are for a single word, but this makes regular expressions less useful.

And also make sure you've voted here and here.
Alex
User avatar
CintaNotes Developer
Site Admin
Posts: 4599
Joined: Fri Dec 12, 2008 4:45 pm
Contact:

Re: [Ann] CintaNotes 3.10 Beta 1

Postby CintaNotes Developer » Tue Aug 22, 2017 11:48 am

date wrote:Highlighting in the main screen does not work when only one character has been typed.

Confirmed, will be fixed, thanks.

date wrote:When the note contains the text -> 09/html : example <-, 9*e does not find the note, both the main screen and the note window. (But it did find other notes containing something with 9 --> e.)

Well this is by design: the pattern is broken by whitespace characters. Otherwise totally unexpected matches will be possible, because paragraphs can be quite long!

date wrote:In the note edit window specifically, if the note contains just the word -> example <-, 'Find Next' will not find anything when you search for 'e.' 'Find Before' finds only the last 'e.' (With wildcards and 'in words' selected.)

Reproduced, this is indeed a bug, will fix. Thanks!

date wrote:In another note, which I can't find anymore this quickly, it would find occurences with 'Find Next' until the end, and then stop, while 'Find Previous' would continue from the end to the start and again continuously.

Would be so great to repro this. Any chance you could come up with sample data for this?

date wrote:But in general, it appears to work very well.

Glad to hear, especially from you!)

date wrote:Since this version (after 3.9 b2) I can't clip anymore as it inserts plain html. I use Firefox 50, but I briefly tried Vivaldi, and it appears the clipping really is broken. :cry: Unselecting one of 'retain rtf' or 'retain html' did not help. (Except for not clipping with links of course.)

Confirmed. That's my fault - I tested on a too old version of Firefox, should have tested on the recent one. Will fix this asap!

date wrote:I don't understand completely, but it sounds like a bad idea. 'Whole words only' means it will not find anything until after the whole word has been typed. 'Search inside words' otoh is plain and simple english?

Yes. but now you can use wildcards and add * at the end to find incomplete words. On the other hand, currrently finding notes with only "the" but without "there", "there's", "thereof" etc. is very problematic. "Whole words only" will make this easy.

date wrote:There's also the option 'search across boundaries.' It's function is difficult to grasp, and the performance benefit when turned off is minimal to non-existent. If it's faster, is't faster at not finding anything. I'd rather suggest removing that one and make it the standard behavior.

More or less I can agree. Does maybe anyone object to removing this option and making the "on" state the default one?
Alex
User avatar
CintaNotes Developer
Site Admin
Posts: 4599
Joined: Fri Dec 12, 2008 4:45 pm
Contact:

Re: [Ann] CintaNotes 3.10 Beta 1

Postby CintaNotes Developer » Tue Aug 22, 2017 11:50 am

Thomas Lohrum wrote:
date wrote:There's also the option 'search across boundaries.' It's function is difficult to grasp, and the performance benefit when turned off is minimal to non-existent.

It's fundamental to me. It does find text not only in title and body, but also in tags!

Hi Thomas, do you mean that the search scope is different depending whether you set this option or not? This sounds like a bug.
What search scope is selected - Anywhere or Any text field?
Alex
date
Posts: 234
Joined: Sat Aug 01, 2015 5:15 am
Contact:

Re: [Ann] CintaNotes 3.10 Beta 1

Postby date » Tue Aug 22, 2017 9:36 pm

CintaNotes Developer wrote:
date wrote:In another note, which I can't find anymore this quickly, it would find occurences with 'Find Next' until the end, and then stop, while 'Find Previous' would continue from the end to the start and again continuously.

Would be so great to repro this. Any chance you could come up with sample data for this?
Doesn't happen anymore, perhaps it was a one time thing.

Since this version (after 3.9 b2) I can't clip anymore as it inserts plain html.

Confirmed. That's my fault - I tested on a too old version of Firefox, should have tested on the recent one. Will fix this asap!
50 is already old. On closer look, Vivaldi works fine, but inserts a portion of the CSS at the start.

Yes. but now you can use wildcards and add * at the end to find incomplete words. On the other hand, currrently finding notes with only "the" but without "there", "there's", "thereof" etc. is very problematic. "Whole words only" will make this easy.
You can replace 'search wildcards' with 'Search whole words using wildcards.' With wildcards you can 'technically' achieve the same as 'search in words' but it is less accessible. Not everyone knows how to use wildcards. 'Search inside words' is very clear and it works, why remove it? (It is removing, not replacing!)
User avatar
CintaNotes Developer
Site Admin
Posts: 4599
Joined: Fri Dec 12, 2008 4:45 pm
Contact:

Re: [Ann] CintaNotes 3.10 Beta 1

Postby CintaNotes Developer » Wed Aug 23, 2017 2:51 am

date wrote:Doesn't happen anymore, perhaps it was a one time thing.

Experience tells me that there's no such thing as a one time thing :) There must be just some convoluted conditions under which the bug happens.

50 is already old. On closer look, Vivaldi works fine, but inserts a portion of the CSS at the start.

Yes, but I had here something like version 18 portable. Don't know what I've been thinking.

You can replace 'search wildcards' with 'Search whole words using wildcards.' With wildcards you can 'technically' achieve the same as 'search in words' but it is less accessible. Not everyone knows how to use wildcards. 'Search inside words' is very clear and it works, why remove it? (It is removing, not replacing!)

Well, basically it not removing, look:
NOW: by default, CN searches from beginning of words, but you can force it to look inside using 'search inside words'.
SUGGESTED: by default, CN searches inside words, but you can force it into matching whole words using 'whole words only' option. If you want to mimic the old default behavior and search from beginning of words, use "whole words" search and add a * wildcard at the end.
Alex
Thomas Lohrum
Posts: 1302
Joined: Tue Mar 08, 2011 11:15 am

Re: [Ann] CintaNotes 3.10 Beta 1

Postby Thomas Lohrum » Wed Aug 23, 2017 7:06 am

Hi Alex,

the handling of bullet lists has changed. With 3.9 if you press ENTER (twice?) on an empty list item, then the list would be turned off. Such as if you had typed Ctrl+L twice. However, pressing ENTER is a lot faster. This behaviour has changed with 3.10. Now when you press ENTER it just adds more empty list items. Please restore the old behaviour. Thanks.

Thomas
date
Posts: 234
Joined: Sat Aug 01, 2015 5:15 am
Contact:

Re: [Ann] CintaNotes 3.10 Beta 1

Postby date » Wed Aug 23, 2017 9:11 am

CintaNotes Developer wrote:Well, basically it not removing, look:
Basically, make slower search the default?
Thomas Lohrum
Posts: 1302
Joined: Tue Mar 08, 2011 11:15 am

Re: [Ann] CintaNotes 3.10 Beta 1

Postby Thomas Lohrum » Wed Aug 23, 2017 6:59 pm

Hi Alex,

with the latest beta i occassionally get

[Error]
---------------------------
class err::LogicException
Postcondition failed:
app::model::data::NoteMapper::getNote
n
-----

after deleting a note.

I delete the note from inside the editor by pressing Ctrl+Del.

Thomas
User avatar
CintaNotes Developer
Site Admin
Posts: 4599
Joined: Fri Dec 12, 2008 4:45 pm
Contact:

Re: [Ann] CintaNotes 3.10 Beta 1

Postby CintaNotes Developer » Thu Aug 24, 2017 5:09 am

Thomas Lohrum wrote:the handling of bullet lists has changed. With 3.9 if you press ENTER (twice?) on an empty list item, then the list would be turned off. Such as if you had typed Ctrl+L twice. However, pressing ENTER is a lot faster. This behaviour has changed with 3.10. Now when you press ENTER it just adds more empty list items. Please restore the old behaviour. Thanks.


Thanks Thomas. However I can't repro this on a clean fresh install. Can you?
When I press ENTER twice, the list gets turned off.
Maybe it is settings-specific?
Alex
User avatar
CintaNotes Developer
Site Admin
Posts: 4599
Joined: Fri Dec 12, 2008 4:45 pm
Contact:

Re: [Ann] CintaNotes 3.10 Beta 1

Postby CintaNotes Developer » Thu Aug 24, 2017 5:12 am

date wrote:
CintaNotes Developer wrote:Well, basically it not removing, look:
Basically, make slower search the default?

Now that you've reminded me about it, yes, it doesn't look as attractive now. On the other hand, we could consider making searching for whole words the default.
Alex
User avatar
CintaNotes Developer
Site Admin
Posts: 4599
Joined: Fri Dec 12, 2008 4:45 pm
Contact:

Re: [Ann] CintaNotes 3.10 Beta 1

Postby CintaNotes Developer » Thu Aug 24, 2017 5:12 am

Thomas Lohrum wrote:with the latest beta i occassionally get [Error] after deleting a note.
I delete the note from inside the editor by pressing Ctrl+Del.


Got it reproduced, thanks Thomas. Will fix.
Alex
date
Posts: 234
Joined: Sat Aug 01, 2015 5:15 am
Contact:

Re: [Ann] CintaNotes 3.10 Beta 1

Postby date » Thu Aug 24, 2017 9:39 am

CintaNotes Developer wrote:Now that you've reminded me about it, yes, it doesn't look as attractive now. On the other hand, we could consider making searching for whole words the default.
It is about twice as slow for medium sized notes. It can probably be sped up by delaying and cancelling searching for 300-500 ms while typing, or making instant search optional. Requiring wildcards by default really, really sounds much worse...
User avatar
Ovg
Posts: 122
Joined: Mon Feb 02, 2015 8:44 am
Contact:

Re: [Ann] CintaNotes 3.10 Beta 1

Postby Ovg » Fri Aug 25, 2017 2:45 pm

Hi Alex!
Stripping program name from note's title doesn't work anymore in this version ....
Last edited by Ovg on Fri Aug 25, 2017 6:51 pm, edited 1 time in total.
It's impossible to lead us astray for we don't care even to choose the way.
CN 3.10 LifeTime Pro Licence / Windows 7 SP1 x64
Thomas Lohrum
Posts: 1302
Joined: Tue Mar 08, 2011 11:15 am

Re: [Ann] CintaNotes 3.10 Beta 1

Postby Thomas Lohrum » Fri Aug 25, 2017 4:08 pm

CintaNotes Developer wrote:
Thomas Lohrum wrote:the handling of bullet lists has changed. With 3.9 if you press ENTER (twice?) on an empty list item, then the list would be turned off. Such as if you had typed Ctrl+L twice. However, pressing ENTER is a lot faster. This behaviour has changed with 3.10. Now when you press ENTER it just adds more empty list items. Please restore the old behaviour. Thanks.
Thanks Thomas. However I can't repro this on a clean fresh install. Can you? When I press ENTER twice, the list gets turned off. Maybe it is settings-specific?

I checked with a fresh installation and could not reproduce. I restored my db and settings and was not able to reproduce with a newly created note either. However, when working on some older note, again i had the same issue.

Thomas
RSchiaffino
Posts: 82
Joined: Thu Aug 16, 2012 5:36 pm
Contact:

Re: [Ann] CintaNotes 3.10 Beta 1

Postby RSchiaffino » Fri Aug 25, 2017 4:28 pm

I think this was supposed to have been fixed in a previous release... but it is not in 3.10 beta 1:

When I clip text from web sites, some times, in addition to the text, I also get in the note a bunch of html and/or other tags. for example

div class="intro" style="box-sizing: border-box; -webkit-font-smoothing: antialiased; color: rgb(62, 63, 62); font-family: "Crimson Text", Garamond, "Times New Roman", serif; font-size: 14px; font-style: normal; font-variant-ligatures: normal; font-variant-caps: normal; font-weight: normal; letter-spacing: normal; orphans: 2; text-align: start; text-indent: 0px; text-transform: none; white-space: normal; widows: 2; word-spacing: 0px; -webkit-text-stroke-width: 0px; background-color: rgb(250, 249, 246); text-decoration-style: initial; text-decoration-color: initial;">

Dubbio linguistico: [etc...]


Where I had clipped some text starting from "Dubbio linguistico" (if you need to look at the page I was clipping, the address is http://www.treccani.it/magazine/lingua_ ... a_564.html

BTW: I'm using the latest version of Chrome, in Windows 10
Last edited by RSchiaffino on Fri Aug 25, 2017 4:44 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Return to “CintaNotes Personal Notes Manager”