[1.1] Comments...

Midas
Moderator
Posts: 370
Joined: Thu Jan 29, 2009 10:40 am
Contact:

[1.1] Comments...

Postby Midas » Thu Jun 17, 2010 10:20 am

[See announcement here.]

Tested! Everything seems to be working as it should. Will check new features and report back if needed. Great job!
:D Midas, your friendly nugget gobbler, with a message from our sponsors:

Ask questions the smart way -- see www.catb.org/~esr/faqs/
PeeWee678
Posts: 39
Joined: Tue Mar 03, 2009 8:37 pm
Contact:

Re: [1.1A] Comments...

Postby PeeWee678 » Thu Jun 17, 2010 11:22 am

As a daily user of Cintanotes I would be very glad with this version, however I'm afraid I discovered a strange bug:

This new version crashes when typing in the searchbox but only with my OWN database (a fresh database works fine) AND ONLY with Preview text lines set to 0 / 0 (Note Appearance).

Those crashes don't occur however when I revert to Cintanotes 1.0B
So, it's quite strange....

What I (very much!) like in this version is the new commandline feature -i (multiple instances).
Thanks a lot again for this great tool!

..................................................................

(Dutch) Windows 7 crashreport:

Gebeurtenisnaam van probleem: BEX
Naam van de toepassing: cintanotes.exe
Versie van toepassing: 0.0.0.0
Tijdstempel van toepassing: 4c18ff9c
Naam van foutmodule: cintanotes.exe
Versie van foutmodule: 0.0.0.0
Tijdstempel van foutmodule: 4c18ff9c
Uitzonderingsmarge: 000df665
Uitzonderingscode: c0000417
Uitzonderingsgegevens: 00000000
Versie van besturingssysteem: 6.1.7600.2.0.0.256.1
Landinstelling-id: 1043
Aanvullende informatie 1: f41d
Aanvullende informatie 2: f41d79b7baf7da3d5fbc11911fc0a540
Aanvullende informatie 3: c373
Aanvullende informatie 4: c373d9896646e526abd1373a7a73c63c
User avatar
CintaNotes Developer
Site Admin
Posts: 4654
Joined: Fri Dec 12, 2008 4:45 pm
Contact:

Re: [1.1A] Comments...

Postby CintaNotes Developer » Thu Jun 17, 2010 11:46 am

PeeWee678, thanks for the report! I could reproduce the bug, working on the fix now!
Alex
PeeWee678
Posts: 39
Joined: Tue Mar 03, 2009 8:37 pm
Contact:

Re: [1.1A] Comments...

Postby PeeWee678 » Thu Jun 17, 2010 11:55 am

Glad to help you Alex

BTW: even after deleting my entire database and adding a new item, the bug is still here. Guess this is not of very much use for you because you already can reproduce it yourself. But if you need this DB, I can post it for you (just ask).

Good luck!
Noddy330
Posts: 354
Joined: Thu Jan 22, 2009 11:05 pm
Contact:

Re: [1.1A] Comments...

Postby Noddy330 » Thu Jun 17, 2010 3:58 pm

PeeWee678 wrote:Glad to help you Alex

BTW: even after deleting my entire database and adding a new item, the bug is still here. Guess this is not of very much use for you because you already can reproduce it yourself. But if you need this DB, I can post it for you (just ask).

Good luck!


PeeWee678,

I get this problem also

Try this
put cintanotes.exe in a new dir
start cintanotes
set - view / note appearance / preview lines to 0 and 0
create new record - title = a text = bcd
search for bcd

Nod
PeeWee678
Posts: 39
Joined: Tue Mar 03, 2009 8:37 pm
Contact:

Re: [1.1A] Comments...

Postby PeeWee678 » Thu Jun 17, 2010 4:54 pm

Hi Noddy330,

Indeed, when I follow your instructions, Cintanotes also crashes. So it even crashes with a fresh database (didn't know that yet). But only when lines are set to 0 / 0

Well, let's hope it isn't too difficult for Alex to fix it.
Noddy330
Posts: 354
Joined: Thu Jan 22, 2009 11:05 pm
Contact:

Re: [1.1A] Comments...

Postby Noddy330 » Thu Jun 17, 2010 8:04 pm

PeeWee678 wrote:Hi Noddy330,

Indeed, when I follow your instructions, Cintanotes also crashes. So it even crashes with a fresh database (didn't know that yet). But only when lines are set to 0 / 0

Well, let's hope it isn't too difficult for Alex to fix it.


PeeWee678,

Yes indeed.

I'd been trying to isolate and accurately describe circumstances of the problem, when I saw your report. I think I'd narrowed it down to searching for existing text.

The "0/0" was the final key information I needed - Teamwork.

Nod
User avatar
CintaNotes Developer
Site Admin
Posts: 4654
Joined: Fri Dec 12, 2008 4:45 pm
Contact:

Re: [1.1A] Comments...

Postby CintaNotes Developer » Fri Jun 18, 2010 5:55 am

Guys, thanks a lot for catching this!

I think I've fixed it, please test:
Attachments
CintaNotes_1_1B.zip
(604.71 KiB) Downloaded 802 times
Alex
Noddy330
Posts: 354
Joined: Thu Jan 22, 2009 11:05 pm
Contact:

Re: [1.1A] Comments...

Postby Noddy330 » Fri Jun 18, 2010 7:00 am

CintaNotes Developer wrote:Guys, thanks a lot for catching this!

I think I've fixed it, please test:


Yes -that's fixed it.
Thanks
Nod
PeeWee678
Posts: 39
Joined: Tue Mar 03, 2009 8:37 pm
Contact:

Re: [1.1A] Comments...

Postby PeeWee678 » Fri Jun 18, 2010 11:07 am

... amd my life makes sense again :D
Works fine now. Good work and thanks a lot again!
User avatar
CintaNotes Developer
Site Admin
Posts: 4654
Joined: Fri Dec 12, 2008 4:45 pm
Contact:

Re: [1.1A] Comments...

Postby CintaNotes Developer » Fri Jun 18, 2010 11:52 am

Oops, I've introduced a bug in 1.1B (CN hangs when you search for multiple space-separated terms).

So here is 1.1C. I've also implemented filtering out duplicate notes at import!! Please test this too. Thanks.

I've rewritten part of the help file concerning dealing with conflicted DropBox cintanotes.db files:

...If you see these files, you will need to merge them back into your main notes database.

To do that you can use the import command on this conflicted file. As of version 1.1C and later, the import command filters out duplicate notes automatically so that you will get the notes that you don't have. This handles the most frequent case of added notes. But keep in mind that it's different for modified or deleted notes, where you will still have to delete some notes by hand.


If everything is ok I'll release 1.1C publicly within a couple of days.
Attachments
CintaNotes_1_1C.zip
(602.37 KiB) Downloaded 770 times
Alex
PeeWee678
Posts: 39
Joined: Tue Mar 03, 2009 8:37 pm
Contact:

Re: [1.1A] Comments...

Postby PeeWee678 » Fri Jun 18, 2010 3:12 pm

Hi Alex,

Found a nasty bug (I think). I discovered that starting up Cintanotes from scratch generates an error (SQLite error, no such table etc.).
It creates a fresh database but after restarting Cintanotes this DB is not usable.
(the created ".settings" file is almost empty (3 lines) but I'm pretty sure that's because of Cintanotes not being able to start properly (it crashes)

When using my good, old database, everything works fine however.

I get this problem with the (portable) 1.1C you posted today (on 2 different PC's).
(1.1B is O.K. as far this bug is concerned)
User avatar
CintaNotes Developer
Site Admin
Posts: 4654
Joined: Fri Dec 12, 2008 4:45 pm
Contact:

Re: [1.1A] Comments...

Postby CintaNotes Developer » Fri Jun 18, 2010 3:40 pm

PeeWee678, thanks for catching this. It was a stupid bug, now fixed here:
Attachments
CintaNotes_1_1C.zip
(602.64 KiB) Downloaded 808 times
Alex
Xtreme

Re: [1.1] Comments...

Postby Xtreme » Tue Jun 22, 2010 12:48 pm

Hey,


I have a Bug if is start cintanotes and use copy&paste cintanote says me

class sqlite :: databaseExeception
SQlite error 1
unrecognized token


Who can help?

Greezt
User avatar
CintaNotes Developer
Site Admin
Posts: 4654
Joined: Fri Dec 12, 2008 4:45 pm
Contact:

Re: [1.1] Comments...

Postby CintaNotes Developer » Tue Jun 22, 2010 1:35 pm

Xtreme, thanks for reporting, but we need more information.
What exactly are you doing? What is the contents of the note?
Does exporting to XML and re-importing to a blank database help? Thanks!
Alex
Guest

Re: [1.1] Comments...

Postby Guest » Tue Jun 22, 2010 2:33 pm

Hey,


I load the portable Version of Cintanotes and unzip the archive. Next Step was to start Cintanotes.
I want to copy the content of a .txt to Cintanotes with copy & paste so i copy the content of the *.txt an do a right click into cintanotes.

Now Cintanotes gave me the SQLite error...



Sry for my englisch...

I use Windows 7 x64
User avatar
CintaNotes Developer
Site Admin
Posts: 4654
Joined: Fri Dec 12, 2008 4:45 pm
Contact:

Re: [1.1] Comments...

Postby CintaNotes Developer » Fri Jun 25, 2010 5:27 am

Hello Guest,

I registered the issue on the roadmap: http://cintanotes.userecho.com/feedback ... -database/
but couldn't reproduce it on my XP SP3 machine.

Could you tell me what was the error message about? thanks
Alex

Return to “CintaNotes Personal Notes Manager”