[UI] Click a link using the ctrl-key

Forum rules
1. Please keep it one request/suggestion per topic.
2. Please mark the requests with the following tags:
[Startup] - issue related to the program's startup or shutdown process;
[Taking] and [Clipping] - related to acquiring/creating notes (excl. editing);
[Viewing] - related to notes list browsing and reading;
[Editing] - related to the process of editing new and existing notes;
[Search] - related to note searching and finding;
[Managing] - related to note organization and management;
[Reordering/Sorting] - related to sorting or reordering the notes list;
[Clipboard] - clipboard operations;
[Import] and [Export] - issue related to bulk notes import/export;
[Globalization] - issues related to multiple languages/cultures support;
[Files] and [Backup] - file operations,notes back-end and backup;
[UI] - UI issues which don't fall into any of the above categories;
[Other] - other issues which don't fall into any of the above categories.

Thank you!
Thomas Lohrum
Posts: 1309
Joined: Tue Mar 08, 2011 11:15 am

[UI] Click a link using the ctrl-key

Postby Thomas Lohrum » Mon Jan 30, 2012 11:59 am

As of now we have two options to open a link: (a) simple click or (b) double click. Accidentally i sometimes try opening a link using a single click while at the same time holding the ctrl-key. This combination is often used in other applications. Actually i would like to be able to open links using either a double click or a single click/ctrl-key combination. I don't need (a) and i don't need this as an option. I would like to have both the same time. What do you think?

Thomas
User avatar
CintaNotes Developer
Site Admin
Posts: 4654
Joined: Fri Dec 12, 2008 4:45 pm
Contact:

Re: Click a link using the ctrl-key

Postby CintaNotes Developer » Mon Jan 30, 2012 4:20 pm

I think this is a sound idea. Could you please post it to the roadmap?
Since it is easy to implement, it will need only +10 score to get into the pipeline.
Alex
Thomas Lohrum
Posts: 1309
Joined: Tue Mar 08, 2011 11:15 am

Re: Click a link using the ctrl-key

Postby Thomas Lohrum » Mon Jan 30, 2012 9:06 pm

CintaNotes Developer wrote:I think this is a sound idea. Could you please post it to the roadmap?
I would like to, but am unable to find an "add" functionality on the roadmap page, even though i am logged in. Any ideas?

Thomas
User avatar
CintaNotes Developer
Site Admin
Posts: 4654
Joined: Fri Dec 12, 2008 4:45 pm
Contact:

Re: Click a link using the ctrl-key

Postby CintaNotes Developer » Tue Jan 31, 2012 2:35 am

Just write it's title into the search field and press the button next to it;)
Alex
Thomas Lohrum
Posts: 1309
Joined: Tue Mar 08, 2011 11:15 am

Re: Click a link using the ctrl-key

Postby Thomas Lohrum » Tue Jan 31, 2012 11:23 am

Done!

I had expected that i would have to do a search first to avoid duplicates. So far so good. But i also expected that an "add/new" button would be shown then. However it is necessary to click "next" twice. The userecho-gui is not really intuitive here.

Thomas
User avatar
CintaNotes Developer
Site Admin
Posts: 4654
Joined: Fri Dec 12, 2008 4:45 pm
Contact:

Re: Click a link using the ctrl-key

Postby CintaNotes Developer » Tue Jan 31, 2012 1:59 pm

Thomas, I totally agree and actually have already filed a request to them.
You could help by voting: http://feedback.userecho.com/topic/93840-/
Alex
Thomas Lohrum
Posts: 1309
Joined: Tue Mar 08, 2011 11:15 am

Re: Click a link using the ctrl-key

Postby Thomas Lohrum » Tue Jan 31, 2012 3:42 pm

Done :)
User avatar
CintaNotes Developer
Site Admin
Posts: 4654
Joined: Fri Dec 12, 2008 4:45 pm
Contact:

Re: Click a link using the ctrl-key

Postby CintaNotes Developer » Sun Feb 12, 2012 3:37 am

It just occured to me that it doesn't need to be a separate option!
It can simply work in both cases:
If the user has single-click links, then Ctrl+click should work as well;
If the user has double-click links, then Ctrl+click won't mess with it either.

Since this is really trivial to do, I think I'll just implement it in the next update.
Alex
Thomas Lohrum
Posts: 1309
Joined: Tue Mar 08, 2011 11:15 am

Re: Click a link using the ctrl-key

Postby Thomas Lohrum » Sun Feb 12, 2012 6:59 am

Hi Alex,

that's correct. The suggestions though is to go a step further. Drop the option at all and clean up the gui, for there is a better solution to it anyhow. That is ctrl+click or double-click does the job. However i understand if you want to keep it for backward compatibility.

Thomas
Thomas Lohrum
Posts: 1309
Joined: Tue Mar 08, 2011 11:15 am

Re: Click a link using the ctrl-key

Postby Thomas Lohrum » Sun Feb 12, 2012 9:56 am

Alternatively the option to single click could remain as an ini-file setting, allowing backward compatibility, but still being able to clean up the gui.
User avatar
CintaNotes Developer
Site Admin
Posts: 4654
Joined: Fri Dec 12, 2008 4:45 pm
Contact:

Re: Click a link using the ctrl-key

Postby CintaNotes Developer » Sun Feb 12, 2012 3:40 pm

Well I'm all for cleaning up, but I strongly suspect that quite a number of people prefer single-click links, and making
them edit the settings file directly would be unfair.

I suggest the following:
on the regular basis create a poll in this forum, listing all the features/options which are suspected to be underused.
The results can be used to make features optional, move some settings to the .settings file, and thus to clear up
the GUI and avoid Cinta bloating. What do you think?

I haven't seen this done for any software before, I suspect the results can be tremendously useful.
Alex
Thomas Lohrum
Posts: 1309
Joined: Tue Mar 08, 2011 11:15 am

Re: Click a link using the ctrl-key

Postby Thomas Lohrum » Sun Feb 12, 2012 4:01 pm

The idea is nice in general. I was specifically thinking of this one option though. But it sure won't hurt for the moment ;)
User avatar
CintaNotes Developer
Site Admin
Posts: 4654
Joined: Fri Dec 12, 2008 4:45 pm
Contact:

Re: Click a link using the ctrl-key

Postby CintaNotes Developer » Mon Feb 13, 2012 4:32 am

Yes let's leave the option for now.
Alex

Return to “Feature Requests”