Important: Clipping and UAC

User avatar
CintaNotes Developer
Site Admin
Posts: 4712
Joined: Fri Dec 12, 2008 4:45 pm
Contact:

Important: Clipping and UAC

Postby CintaNotes Developer » Wed Nov 03, 2010 5:59 am

Hello everyone,

I've recently upgraded from XP to Windows 7, and noticed that with default UAC settings CN can't clip text (when run in non-elevated mode). I wonder why no one reported this before. Please tell whether it's true for you and whether you have a problem with that. Thanks!
Alex
kranor
Moderator
Posts: 229
Joined: Wed Feb 11, 2009 3:10 pm
Contact:

Re: Important: Clipping and UAC

Postby kranor » Wed Nov 03, 2010 11:56 am

I think you might find that as most of us on here are knowledgeable when it comes to computers,(probably to do with the software only just being out of beta, and people avoiding software in beta) most of the vista and 7 users will probably have deactivated UAC this might be why we are not seeing the issue.
No trees were killed in the creation of this message. However, many electrons were terribly inconvenienced.
Noddy330
Posts: 354
Joined: Thu Jan 22, 2009 11:05 pm
Contact:

Re: Important: Clipping and UAC

Postby Noddy330 » Wed Nov 03, 2010 10:27 pm

kranor wrote:I think you might find that as most of us on here are knowledgeable when it comes to computers,(probably to do with the software only just being out of beta, and people avoiding software in beta) most of the vista and 7 users will probably have deactivated UAC this might be why we are not seeing the issue.

Agreed. I have Win7 and have deactivated UAC. Nod
User avatar
CintaNotes Developer
Site Admin
Posts: 4712
Joined: Fri Dec 12, 2008 4:45 pm
Contact:

Re: Important: Clipping and UAC

Postby CintaNotes Developer » Tue Nov 09, 2010 7:14 pm

I see. Well, by now I hope the user base is large enough so that every major problem gets reported, so I guess this issue can be put on ice for now.

Thanks guys!
Alex
Midas
Moderator
Posts: 370
Joined: Thu Jan 29, 2009 10:40 am
Contact:

Re: Important: Clipping and UAC

Postby Midas » Wed Nov 10, 2010 3:49 pm

I'm still running XP... :mrgreen:
:D Midas, your friendly nugget gobbler, with a message from our sponsors:

Ask questions the smart way -- see www.catb.org/~esr/faqs/
GoD

Re: Important: Clipping and UAC

Postby GoD » Sun Nov 14, 2010 10:58 pm

User avatar
CintaNotes Developer
Site Admin
Posts: 4712
Joined: Fri Dec 12, 2008 4:45 pm
Contact:

Re: Important: Clipping and UAC

Postby CintaNotes Developer » Fri Nov 26, 2010 7:09 am

GoD, thanks for the reminder. But as I see it, the problem is not exactly the same - when UAC is turned on, CN can't clip even from programs run without admin privileges.
Alex
GoD

Re: Important: Clipping and UAC

Postby GoD » Sat Nov 27, 2010 8:19 pm

Strange. Here it's working.
I cannot clip from higher privileged windows.
User avatar
CintaNotes Developer
Site Admin
Posts: 4712
Joined: Fri Dec 12, 2008 4:45 pm
Contact:

Re: Important: Clipping and UAC

Postby CintaNotes Developer » Wed Jan 12, 2011 7:53 pm

Added to the roadmap here http://roadmap.cintanotes.com/feedback/ ... lications/
to see how many users are bothered with this issue.
Alex

Return to “Bug Reports”