Error message on pasting text

Thomas Lohrum
Posts: 1324
Joined: Tue Mar 08, 2011 11:15 am

Error message on pasting text

Postby Thomas Lohrum » Sat May 27, 2017 10:32 am

Hi Alex,

occasionally i see this message when pasting text.

class err::InvalidArgumentException
Precondition failed:
ui::controls::RichEdit::tryParseRtfHyperlink
!text.empty()

The source is text copied from another CN editor window. The text of the clipboard does not contain any hyperlinks, nor does the note itself.

Thomas
User avatar
CintaNotes Developer
Site Admin
Posts: 5001
Joined: Fri Dec 12, 2008 4:45 pm
Contact:

Re: Error message on pasting text

Postby CintaNotes Developer » Mon May 29, 2017 9:49 am

Thanks Thomas,

please tell if it happens with the latest beta as well?
Any chance on having a debug log excerpt?
Alex
Thomas Lohrum
Posts: 1324
Joined: Tue Mar 08, 2011 11:15 am

Re: Error message on pasting text

Postby Thomas Lohrum » Mon Jun 26, 2017 8:16 am

Hi Alex,

text that does trigger the issue:
>>>>>
• xxxx.yyyy.zzzzz.aaaa.bbbb
- some text

<<<<

The symbols >< mark the beginning and end of the text and are not part of it. A bullet is used. Thus vertical tabs are used. If the last empty line is not included, it is possible to paste the text.

Hint: "- some text" is part of the paragraph

Thomas
User avatar
CintaNotes Developer
Site Admin
Posts: 5001
Joined: Fri Dec 12, 2008 4:45 pm
Contact:

Re: Error message on pasting text

Postby CintaNotes Developer » Wed Jun 28, 2017 12:42 pm

Thanks for the info! Still can't reproduce in 3.8 final. Can you?
Alex
Thomas Lohrum
Posts: 1324
Joined: Tue Mar 08, 2011 11:15 am

Re: Error message on pasting text

Postby Thomas Lohrum » Wed Jun 28, 2017 5:53 pm

The test data was generated using the latest 3.8 version.
User avatar
CintaNotes Developer
Site Admin
Posts: 5001
Joined: Fri Dec 12, 2008 4:45 pm
Contact:

Re: Error message on pasting text

Postby CintaNotes Developer » Thu Jun 29, 2017 5:33 am

Ok thanks, will try harder to reproduce..
Alex
Thomas Lohrum
Posts: 1324
Joined: Tue Mar 08, 2011 11:15 am

Re: Error message on pasting text

Postby Thomas Lohrum » Thu May 16, 2019 5:31 am

Hi Alex,

this bug:

"ui::wndProcCore ERROR:class err::InvalidArgumentException
Precondition failed:
ui::controls::RichEdit::tryParseRtfHyperlink
!text.empty()"

is still bugging me ;)

However, i have new information for you. Neither the clipboard content nor the destination note is the problem. It's the editor's state! Obviously while editing notes (and also pasting/copy???) the editor state gets in trouble. I can not paste content into the editor. However, if i close and reopen the note pasting will success, though the content of the clipboard did not change.

For another test i left the editor window opened and removed all content. Still pasting was not possible. I exported the note to check, if there is some invisible content. The note does however match any other note, that gets created.

A new note:
<note uid="6dd81c72-1e1a-44fb-a73b-ac17493209f3" revision="1" title="" created="20190515T162422" modified="20190515T162422" source="" link="" remarks="" tags="tasks/now" section="1" plainText="1"><![CDATA[]]></note>

The "buggy" note:
<note uid="b381a581-4088-4321-ab93-e27584b61d13" revision="9" title="" created="20190515T115235" modified="20190515T162333" source="" link="" remarks="" tags="tasks/now" section="1" plainText="1"><![CDATA[]]></note>
</notebook>

Thomas
User avatar
CintaNotes Developer
Site Admin
Posts: 5001
Joined: Fri Dec 12, 2008 4:45 pm
Contact:

Re: Error message on pasting text

Postby CintaNotes Developer » Sat May 18, 2019 5:57 pm

Hi Thomas,
Thanks for the additional info!

I'll ask Denis to take a look. It should be easier to reproduce now.
Alex
invenio
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri May 31, 2019 12:45 pm
Contact:

Re: Error message on pasting text

Postby invenio » Fri May 31, 2019 12:51 pm

Any update on this issue? I use cintanotes with multiple copy/paste functions for each note and this error is constantly popping up. It's pretty much destroyed my work flow.

I've noticed that if you use right click and "paste as plain text" it does not seem to happen so it may be an issue with RTF formatted text?

Also, to those who are having the issue, you can prevent the program from crashing if you hit the "ignore" button after the error. The pasted content won't be there but at least it doesn't crash the entire program.

Edit: I forgot to mention that this started with upgrading to the latest version. The previous version was working fine.
User avatar
CintaNotes Developer
Site Admin
Posts: 5001
Joined: Fri Dec 12, 2008 4:45 pm
Contact:

Re: Error message on pasting text

Postby CintaNotes Developer » Sun Jul 21, 2019 11:35 am

Wow, have just seen that this topic is still unresolved. Really sorry guys, have slipped out of my attention!
Is the issue still relevant? If so, I'll get to it myself this time.
And, any new/better ways to reproduce, maybe?
Alex
invenio
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri May 31, 2019 12:45 pm
Contact:

Re: Error message on pasting text

Postby invenio » Sun Jul 21, 2019 1:03 pm

It definitely has to do something with RTF formatted text from the clipboard. If plain text is inserted it doesn't happen. If RTF text is inserted it can cause the crash but if you just go through the errors and hit "ignore" so the program doesn't crash, you can immediately select the past in unformated text with the right-click menu and the contents of the unaltered clipboard will be inserted without issue (but obviously no formatting).

Again, this is not always the case. You can always do the first clipboard insertion with RTF without issue. It's when you want to paste in multiple RTF formatted texts sequentially.
User avatar
CintaNotes Developer
Site Admin
Posts: 5001
Joined: Fri Dec 12, 2008 4:45 pm
Contact:

Re: Error message on pasting text

Postby CintaNotes Developer » Mon Jul 22, 2019 9:07 am

invenio, thanks for the extra info!
Do you by any chance have an example of RTF that causes the crash to happen when pasted?
Alex
invenio
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri May 31, 2019 12:45 pm
Contact:

Re: Error message on pasting text

Postby invenio » Mon Jul 22, 2019 11:33 am

I don't think it's a specific text. I use different text insertions and the first one always works. Also, it doesn't always crash so it's not 100% that the 2nd pasting will do it. It's hard to reproduce as it doesn't always happen.

Does the error code mean anything that would give a clue as to what to look for?

Return to “Bug Reports”