Seaches Current Section, not entire DB

Rich71
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Feb 25, 2014 10:53 am
Contact:

Seaches Current Section, not entire DB

Postby Rich71 » Wed Mar 11, 2015 9:33 am

I'm having an issue when searching. The Anywhere Mode is selected but when I enter any text, only the notes for the current section is displayed. To see the notes in other sections that match the search criteria, I have to click on each section. I'm assuming, it supposed to search for the selected text in the entire DB, display all the matching notes, regardless of the section they are in. The selected text is properly highlighted and the search is the same, regardless what section is the default when entering the text for the search. I've looked but I can't seem to find how to change this behavior. Shouldn't the entire DB searched by default?

I have attached a zipped copy of my settings file, if that would help. Also, I'm using the portable version. Could that make a difference?

Thanks,



Windows 7, SP1, x64
IE 9, 9.0.8112.16421
CintaNotes Pro 2.8.5 Portable Version
Attachments
Rich71_cintanotes.zip
cintanotes.settings file - zipped
(2.77 KiB) Downloaded 288 times
Thomas Lohrum
Posts: 1310
Joined: Tue Mar 08, 2011 11:15 am

Re: Seaches Current Section, not entire DB

Postby Thomas Lohrum » Wed Mar 11, 2015 9:49 am

Hi Rich71,

when you right-click on a section you can click on "Select All" or you may want to use the shortcut Ctrl+Shift+Space to select all sections at once.

Thomas
User avatar
CintaNotes Developer
Site Admin
Posts: 4699
Joined: Fri Dec 12, 2008 4:45 pm
Contact:

Re: Seaches Current Section, not entire DB

Postby CintaNotes Developer » Wed Mar 11, 2015 3:30 pm

Hi Rich71,
Thomas is correct - you need to select all sections to search in all of them at once.
Double-clicking on any section tab also works for this.
Alex
Rich71
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Feb 25, 2014 10:53 am
Contact:

Re: Seaches Current Section, not entire DB

Postby Rich71 » Thu Mar 12, 2015 3:35 am

Thomas and Alex,

Thanks for the quick reply and you guys nailed it for me. That works great. I had searched but obviously missed it big time. As the song goes, I was searching in all the wrong places. :oops:

Thanks again,
User avatar
CintaNotes Developer
Site Admin
Posts: 4699
Joined: Fri Dec 12, 2008 4:45 pm
Contact:

Re: Seaches Current Section, not entire DB

Postby CintaNotes Developer » Fri Mar 13, 2015 9:33 am

No problem - and you're welcome! :)
Alex

Return to “Bug Reports”