opening a pdf document

Thomas Lohrum
Posts: 1324
Joined: Tue Mar 08, 2011 11:15 am

opening a pdf document

Postby Thomas Lohrum » Fri Apr 24, 2015 12:34 pm

Hi Alex,

when i reference an external file via the Alt+Shift+F function and i open that file, a dialog pops up asking for the language to choose, in case the document is a pdf file. Though it is not a big deal (simply press Enter), it is disturbing a bit.

Can this be improved, so that the adobe reader will open immediately?

Thanks!

Thomas
User avatar
usbpoweredfridge
Posts: 410
Joined: Fri Jan 17, 2014 11:08 pm
Contact:

Re: opening a pdf document

Postby usbpoweredfridge » Sat Apr 25, 2015 11:47 am

I might be doing this wrong, but it seems to work fine here. Alt+Shift+F inside the text of a note, browse to a PDF. Select it, CN adds it as a link. Then I can open the note and double click the link, and PDF opens in Adobe without any prompting.

Chris
User avatar
CintaNotes Developer
Site Admin
Posts: 5001
Joined: Fri Dec 12, 2008 4:45 pm
Contact:

Re: opening a pdf document

Postby CintaNotes Developer » Mon Apr 27, 2015 7:19 am

Hi Thomas,

Seems to me that this language-choosing dialog is coming from the program that handles links to PDF files on your system.
To check this hypothesis, please try pasting a file:/// link to a PDF file into the browser address bar and see if the same dialog pops up.
Alex
Thomas Lohrum
Posts: 1324
Joined: Tue Mar 08, 2011 11:15 am

Re: opening a pdf document

Postby Thomas Lohrum » Mon Apr 27, 2015 7:59 am

CintaNotes Developer wrote:Hi Thomas, Seems to me that this language-choosing dialog is coming from the program that handles links to PDF files on your system. To check this hypothesis, please try pasting a file:/// link to a PDF file into the browser address bar and see if the same dialog pops up.

Hi Alex,

Chrome will use its internal pdf reader to open the file. IE will use Adobe Reader embedded inside an IE window. In neither case a pop up will be displayed. What API are you using to open the file? ShellExecute(.., Null), ShellExecute(..'open')? Something else? I know these calls can have an affect on the execution.

Thomas
User avatar
CintaNotes Developer
Site Admin
Posts: 5001
Joined: Fri Dec 12, 2008 4:45 pm
Contact:

Re: opening a pdf document

Postby CintaNotes Developer » Mon Apr 27, 2015 8:05 am

We use ShellExecute(NULL, "open", fileLink, "", "")
Alex
Thomas Lohrum
Posts: 1324
Joined: Tue Mar 08, 2011 11:15 am

Re: opening a pdf document

Postby Thomas Lohrum » Mon Apr 27, 2015 8:30 am

CintaNotes Developer wrote:We use ShellExecute(NULL, "open", fileLink, "", "")

I wrote a short Delphi App:

ShellExecute(0, 'open', 'c:\temp\abc.pdf', '', '', SW_SHOWNORMAL);
ShellExecute(0, '', 'c:\temp\abc.pdf', '', '', SW_SHOWNORMAL);

Both calls work fine with no dialog popping up.

Thomas
User avatar
CintaNotes Developer
Site Admin
Posts: 5001
Joined: Fri Dec 12, 2008 4:45 pm
Contact:

Re: opening a pdf document

Postby CintaNotes Developer » Mon Apr 27, 2015 10:36 am

try this:

ShellExecute(0, 'open', 'file:///c:\temp\abc.pdf', '', '', SW_SHOWNORMAL);
Alex
Thomas Lohrum
Posts: 1324
Joined: Tue Mar 08, 2011 11:15 am

Re: opening a pdf document

Postby Thomas Lohrum » Mon Apr 27, 2015 10:44 am

CintaNotes Developer wrote:try this: ShellExecute(0, 'open', 'file:///c:\temp\abc.pdf', '', '', SW_SHOWNORMAL);

Same result - no pop up here.

However, a link in CN's editor, either created using Alt+Shift+F or Alt+Shift+U (prefixing with file:///) will result in prompting the dialog.

Does the language setting of CintaNotes.exe does have an effect?

Thomas
User avatar
CintaNotes Developer
Site Admin
Posts: 5001
Joined: Fri Dec 12, 2008 4:45 pm
Contact:

Re: opening a pdf document

Postby CintaNotes Developer » Mon Apr 27, 2015 11:01 am

Maybe this will resolve the issue?
https://forums.adobe.com/thread/982620

Especially promising seems to be that HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\Software\Adobe\Acrobat Reader\10.0\Language\UseMUI registry key
Alex
Thomas Lohrum
Posts: 1324
Joined: Tue Mar 08, 2011 11:15 am

Re: opening a pdf document

Postby Thomas Lohrum » Mon Apr 27, 2015 11:10 am

CintaNotes Developer wrote:Maybe this will resolve the issue? https://forums.adobe.com/thread/982620
Especially promising seems to be that HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\Software\Adobe\Acrobat Reader\10.0\Language\UseMUI registry key

Thanks. I checked the keys for Windows 64-Bit (Wow6432Node) and Adobe Reader 11. The UseMUI settings was the only one missing, but creating it, did not have any effect.

Thomas
Thomas Lohrum
Posts: 1324
Joined: Tue Mar 08, 2011 11:15 am

Re: opening a pdf document

Postby Thomas Lohrum » Mon Apr 27, 2015 11:58 am

Alex,

i found the culprit. It is the way i am opening a link using Ctrl and a single mouse click. Obviously holding the Ctrl-Key triggers the language dialog. If i double click, there is no dialog. MS Word is behaving the same when using Ctrl+Click. Damn, i am really used to this combination. I prefer it over using a double click.

Thank you for your help. The issue is resolved.

Thomas
User avatar
CintaNotes Developer
Site Admin
Posts: 5001
Joined: Fri Dec 12, 2008 4:45 pm
Contact:

Re: opening a pdf document

Postby CintaNotes Developer » Mon Apr 27, 2015 12:14 pm

Wow, that is interesting.
If it is any consolation, you're not the only one suffering from this:
https://forums.adobe.com/thread/942557
Alex
User avatar
CintaNotes Developer
Site Admin
Posts: 5001
Joined: Fri Dec 12, 2008 4:45 pm
Contact:

Re: opening a pdf document

Postby CintaNotes Developer » Mon Apr 27, 2015 12:14 pm

Maybe you could try to get a non-MUI version of Adobe Reader?
Alex
Thomas Lohrum
Posts: 1324
Joined: Tue Mar 08, 2011 11:15 am

Re: opening a pdf document

Postby Thomas Lohrum » Mon Apr 27, 2015 12:43 pm

CintaNotes Developer wrote:Maybe you could try to get a non-MUI version of Adobe Reader?

Thanks. I tried selecting a specific german version at get.adobe.com. It forced me to uninstall my existing installation. Installed the new version, needed to reconfigure adobe reader :( Still the same problem. Never mind.

Thomas
User avatar
usbpoweredfridge
Posts: 410
Joined: Fri Jan 17, 2014 11:08 pm
Contact:

Re: opening a pdf document

Postby usbpoweredfridge » Mon Apr 27, 2015 1:06 pm

Very odd - even Ctrl+clicking here I do not see any extra popup or dialog. The PDF just opens in Reader as any normal double click from Explorer would. English Windows, English Reader (not v11 though, I'm using v12 - or DC as it is called).

Chris
User avatar
CintaNotes Developer
Site Admin
Posts: 5001
Joined: Fri Dec 12, 2008 4:45 pm
Contact:

Re: opening a pdf document

Postby CintaNotes Developer » Wed Apr 29, 2015 8:35 am

Chris, probably this is specific to Adobe Reader 11?

Thomas: maybe you can try Reader 12?
Alex

Return to “CintaNotes Personal Notes Manager”