Why do I have to enter the password over and over again?

User avatar
ChrisCN
Posts: 222
Joined: Wed Jul 04, 2012 10:20 am
Contact:

Why do I have to enter the password over and over again?

Postby ChrisCN » Thu Nov 12, 2015 9:43 am

Hi

Just wanted to ask if there is a 'timeout' after which one has to reenter the password?

I thought it would be save enough to enter the password once a day
but CN is 'nagging' me from time to time to reenter it!?

Thanks
User avatar
CintaNotes Developer
Site Admin
Posts: 4711
Joined: Fri Dec 12, 2008 4:45 pm
Contact:

Re: Why do I have to enter the password over and over again?

Postby CintaNotes Developer » Thu Nov 12, 2015 9:47 am

CN will re-ask for password after every workstation lock, also it can be configured to lock after a timeout or immediately after minimizing.
Please post your settings from the File/Password protection dialog.
Alex
User avatar
ChrisCN
Posts: 222
Joined: Wed Jul 04, 2012 10:20 am
Contact:

Re: Why do I have to enter the password over and over again?

Postby ChrisCN » Thu Nov 12, 2015 9:50 am

2015-11-12 10_49_27-.png
2015-11-12 10_49_27-.png (37.56 KiB) Viewed 1921 times
User avatar
CintaNotes Developer
Site Admin
Posts: 4711
Joined: Fri Dec 12, 2008 4:45 pm
Contact:

Re: Why do I have to enter the password over and over again?

Postby CintaNotes Developer » Thu Nov 12, 2015 9:52 am

In your case, CN should re-ask for password only after workstation lock or user logoff/logon.
Alex
User avatar
ChrisCN
Posts: 222
Joined: Wed Jul 04, 2012 10:20 am
Contact:

Re: Why do I have to enter the password over and over again?

Postby ChrisCN » Thu Nov 12, 2015 10:11 am

CintaNotes Developer wrote:In your case, CN should re-ask for password only after workstation lock or user logoff/logon.
I think the 'Workstation lock' is the cause.
Can I disable this behaviour?

The reason I use the password protection is, that I use the portable version and sync my database via dropbox. So encryption on disc is quite a reasonable step. But in my case I don't see a reason why a workstation lock should trigger a new 're-ask' dialog!?

Thanks
User avatar
CintaNotes Developer
Site Admin
Posts: 4711
Joined: Fri Dec 12, 2008 4:45 pm
Contact:

Re: Why do I have to enter the password over and over again?

Postby CintaNotes Developer » Thu Nov 12, 2015 10:14 am

No this behavior can't be turned off. But I see your point and we'll add another checkbox "Lock when workstation is locked" to this dialog box in V3.1.
Alex
User avatar
ChrisCN
Posts: 222
Joined: Wed Jul 04, 2012 10:20 am
Contact:

Re: Why do I have to enter the password over and over again?

Postby ChrisCN » Thu Nov 12, 2015 10:16 am

CintaNotes Developer wrote:we'll add another checkbox "Lock when workstation is locked" to this dialog box in V3.1.
Thanks :D

Return to “CintaNotes Personal Notes Manager”