[solved] Can't Upgrade to version 3.8

User avatar
ChrisCN
Posts: 222
Joined: Wed Jul 04, 2012 10:20 am
Contact:

[solved] Can't Upgrade to version 3.8

Postby ChrisCN » Wed Jun 14, 2017 7:59 am

Today I wanted to upgrade to the new version but it was not able to convert the existing database file.
It states: "The Notebook file '…' was created by a older version of CintaNotes and cannot be upgraded."

What additional informations should I provide to solve the issue?
(Or is this an already known Problem?)

Thanks
Chris
Last edited by ChrisCN on Fri Jun 16, 2017 10:38 am, edited 1 time in total.
rhickman
Posts: 22
Joined: Sat Aug 09, 2014 5:18 pm
Contact:

Re: Can't Upgrade to version 3.8

Postby rhickman » Thu Jun 15, 2017 5:39 pm

I've not seen this... are you upgrading from 3.7?

I suppose you could try and do an export/import to work around it for now or something?

If there's any logs you could check %APPDATA%\CintaNotes.
User avatar
CintaNotes Developer
Site Admin
Posts: 4711
Joined: Fri Dec 12, 2008 4:45 pm
Contact:

Re: Can't Upgrade to version 3.8

Postby CintaNotes Developer » Thu Jun 15, 2017 5:41 pm

Hi Chris, sorry to hear about the issue.
Could you please send me some logs of the startup process?
You can run cintanotes with -d switch if necessary.
Alex
User avatar
ChrisCN
Posts: 222
Joined: Wed Jul 04, 2012 10:20 am
Contact:

Re: Can't Upgrade to version 3.8

Postby ChrisCN » Fri Jun 16, 2017 10:31 am

Thanks for the hint with the logfile.
CintaNote tried to create a directory under C: 'root' which is not allowed.

Code: Select all

Error message: boost::filesystem::create_directories: Access denied: "c:\temp_BAK_CintaNotes"]


I started the upgrade without the 'Create Backup' option and successfully upgraded :D
User avatar
CintaNotes Developer
Site Admin
Posts: 4711
Joined: Fri Dec 12, 2008 4:45 pm
Contact:

Re: [solved] Can't Upgrade to version 3.8

Postby CintaNotes Developer » Tue Jun 20, 2017 7:03 am

Glad to hear that you managed to get to the root of the issue!
We definitely need to provide a more helpful error message in this case.
Added a task to our backlog.
Alex

Return to “Bug Reports”