Opera links not captured

Brian

Opera links not captured

Postby Brian » Sun Feb 01, 2009 5:57 pm

Hi,

Just downloaded CintaNotes and really like it.

One problem I've had is when capturing from Opera CintaNotes does not add the link to the note. Tests with Firefox did not have this problem. Is it a known bug or is it working for other people?

Thanks

Brian
User avatar
CintaNotes Developer
Site Admin
Posts: 4689
Joined: Fri Dec 12, 2008 4:45 pm
Contact:

Re: Opera links not captured

Postby CintaNotes Developer » Sun Feb 01, 2009 6:18 pm

Hi,
have you downloaded the latest version of CintaNotes - Beta M6? Which version of Opera are you using?

Thanks,
Alex
Brian

Re: Opera links not captured

Postby Brian » Mon Feb 02, 2009 10:39 am

Hi,

I'm using the latest portable version of CintaNotes and version 9.63 of opera (also the latest)

Thanks

Brian
User avatar
CintaNotes Developer
Site Admin
Posts: 4689
Joined: Fri Dec 12, 2008 4:45 pm
Contact:

Re: Opera links not captured

Postby CintaNotes Developer » Mon Feb 02, 2009 5:30 pm

Brian wrote:I'm using the latest portable version of CintaNotes and version 9.63 of opera (also the latest)

This is strange, because on my machine clipping from Opera 9.63 works just fine.
I would need a bit more information from you:
1) Full Windows version incl. servicepacks
2) Clipping hotkey chosen, and whether the default hot key (Ctrl+F12) has the same behavior.
3) Does the focus go to the address bar and back during clipping?
4) Would you be so kind to download and run the cintanotes.exe file below. This is a version with debug logging.
Please run it, try to clip from Opera, exit, and email me (bug@cintanotes.com) the log.txt file which will be created in the same folder. This will enable me to see what's going on there.

Thank you very much.
Attachments
CintaNotes_BetaM6_DebugLog.zip
(421.96 KiB) Downloaded 2828 times
Alex
Brian

Re: Opera links not captured

Postby Brian » Mon Feb 02, 2009 8:09 pm

1) Windows XP Prof SP3
2) Using default hotkey; just tried Ctrl + Y - no difference.
3) Focus does not go to address bar
4) Downloaded, tested and sent. I took two captures with Opera, still no luck with the url - and I took one with Firefox (worked) to show the dirrerence. So in the log file the first two captures are from Opera and the last is Firefox.

Hope it helps

Keep up the good work

B
Brian

Re: Opera links not captured

Postby Brian » Tue Feb 03, 2009 7:50 am

Update:

To test, I installed the non-portable version of CintaNotes and the URL capture works perfectly with Opera.

It seems the problem only exists with the portable version.
User avatar
CintaNotes Developer
Site Admin
Posts: 4689
Joined: Fri Dec 12, 2008 4:45 pm
Contact:

Re: Opera links not captured

Postby CintaNotes Developer » Sun Aug 02, 2009 12:16 am

Problem is now solved. Please grab the updated version M6.2 from main download links on http://cintanotes.com.

The problem was that CintaNotes compared executable name in a case-sensitive manner, and it lead to "Opera.exe" being different from the expected "opera.exe". Therefore CintaNotes just didn't recognize Opera and didn't execute the URL fetching code.
Alex
urlwolf
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Jul 13, 2011 8:11 pm
Contact:

Re: Opera links not captured

Postby urlwolf » Wed Jul 13, 2011 9:00 pm

Looks like the problem is back.
On opera 11.5, when I use the clip shortcut, I do not get a url, and Opera produces the 'links' page. It might be that CN relies on a shortcut to focus the url bar that I might have redefined...

Any opera user can confirm/disconfirm?
Workaround?
Thanks!
User avatar
CintaNotes Developer
Site Admin
Posts: 4689
Joined: Fri Dec 12, 2008 4:45 pm
Contact:

Re: Opera links not captured

Postby CintaNotes Developer » Thu Jul 14, 2011 5:10 am

Yes, CintaNotes relies on the Ctrl+L shortcut to focus the address bar.. I guess I'll have to allow this shortcut to be redefined in the configuration file, but right now there's no other workaround as to redefine the shortcut back.
Alex
ale
Moderator
Posts: 202
Joined: Fri Feb 06, 2009 6:01 pm

Re: Opera links not captured

Postby ale » Thu Jul 14, 2011 9:38 am

For reference, the same problem is being discussed here: viewtopic.php?f=6&t=581 in the bug reports subforum, so I think it's ok if we close the conversation and continue there all in one topic.

Return to “CintaNotes Personal Notes Manager”