Set what Section Notes go in by Default

Forum rules
1. Please keep it one request/suggestion per topic.
2. Please mark the requests with the following tags:
[Startup] - issue related to the program's startup or shutdown process;
[Taking] and [Clipping] - related to acquiring/creating notes (excl. editing);
[Viewing] - related to notes list browsing and reading;
[Editing] - related to the process of editing new and existing notes;
[Search] - related to note searching and finding;
[Managing] - related to note organization and management;
[Reordering/Sorting] - related to sorting or reordering the notes list;
[Clipboard] - clipboard operations;
[Import] and [Export] - issue related to bulk notes import/export;
[Globalization] - issues related to multiple languages/cultures support;
[Files] and [Backup] - file operations,notes back-end and backup;
[UI] - UI issues which don't fall into any of the above categories;
[Other] - other issues which don't fall into any of the above categories.

Thank you!
User avatar
usbpoweredfridge
Posts: 407
Joined: Fri Jan 17, 2014 11:08 pm
Contact:

Set what Section Notes go in by Default

Postby usbpoweredfridge » Sun Jan 26, 2014 2:33 am

I have a database with two sections. One is reminder section, so I prefer to keep it open so that when I open CintaNotes, this reminder section is the first one shown. The other section contains the bulk of my notes, so I prefer notes to go into this section (and only into the reminder section if I specifically move them to that section).

The problem I have is that if I create a note (e.g. by clipping), the note will go into the reminder section, as it is the section that has focus. I then have to manually move it to the other section. Could we have an option to tell CintaNotes to put new notes into a specific section regardless of which section has focus please?
gunars
Posts: 193
Joined: Fri Nov 08, 2013 5:35 am
Contact:

Re: Set what Section Notes go in by Default

Postby gunars » Sun Jan 26, 2014 5:27 am

Take a look at the description "The Inbox section" in the help file. You can designate a particular section as the default Inbox. New notes created either by clipping or by the Global New Note hotkey (specified in Options->Hot Keys) will go to this section. The only exception is for new notes created by Edit->New or by Ins or Ctrl-N -- since you're already looking at a section, CN assumes you want the new note there.
User avatar
usbpoweredfridge
Posts: 407
Joined: Fri Jan 17, 2014 11:08 pm
Contact:

Re: Set what Section Notes go in by Default

Postby usbpoweredfridge » Sun Jan 26, 2014 12:56 pm

Ah, yes - that does what I want :)

Thanks!
User avatar
usbpoweredfridge
Posts: 407
Joined: Fri Jan 17, 2014 11:08 pm
Contact:

Re: Set what Section Notes go in by Default

Postby usbpoweredfridge » Mon Jan 27, 2014 12:54 am

The only annoyance now is that once a note is created, you are still in the 'untagged' section. Can we have an option to return to 'All' automatically please?
gunars
Posts: 193
Joined: Fri Nov 08, 2013 5:35 am
Contact:

Re: Set what Section Notes go in by Default

Postby gunars » Mon Jan 27, 2014 3:09 am

I'm not sure if this is what you want, but try to uncheck "Switch to Untagged View" in "Options->Clipping->After Clipping".
User avatar
usbpoweredfridge
Posts: 407
Joined: Fri Jan 17, 2014 11:08 pm
Contact:

Re: Set what Section Notes go in by Default

Postby usbpoweredfridge » Mon Jan 27, 2014 10:50 am

Yep, that does what I want. Thanks! :) I guess the advantage of putting it in untagged (even though it is extra mouse clicks to go back to 'all') is that when you then want to add tags to the note, it should be easier to find in untagged than in all. Having said that, ticking the open in editor option solves this problem - note is captured, note is opened, I add the tags, and then I get sent back to 'all' by default.
gunars
Posts: 193
Joined: Fri Nov 08, 2013 5:35 am
Contact:

Re: Set what Section Notes go in by Default

Postby gunars » Mon Jan 27, 2014 3:58 pm

Great! I think the difference is between those who create notes one by one, tagging them as they go, and those who create a bunch and later classify and tag them.
User avatar
usbpoweredfridge
Posts: 407
Joined: Fri Jan 17, 2014 11:08 pm
Contact:

Re: Set what Section Notes go in by Default

Postby usbpoweredfridge » Tue Jan 28, 2014 10:13 am

Yes - that makes sense. I add notes one at a time, tagging as I go (I might add one note, and then not add another one for a few days, so I am in the former category). If I had a whole bunch of notes I wanted to add at the same time and with the same tags, the way I have it setup would probably be quite a lot of extra work.

Regards.
User avatar
CintaNotes Developer
Site Admin
Posts: 4711
Joined: Fri Dec 12, 2008 4:45 pm
Contact:

Re: Set what Section Notes go in by Default

Postby CintaNotes Developer » Fri Jan 31, 2014 6:29 am

Hi guys,
sorry for arriving late, great that you've sorted it out.
Huge thanks to you, Gunars, for helping out!
It's always great to see a real community here on the forum, where people
help each other.
Alex

Return to “Feature Requests”