constant modal popups

dordave
Posts: 23
Joined: Tue Aug 04, 2009 6:57 pm
Contact:

constant modal popups

Postby dordave » Mon Jul 14, 2014 9:31 am

I'm getting this popup constantly with my database:

class err::InvalidStateException
Precondition failed:
gdi::Rect::getWidth
left <= right

Restarting the program doesn't help.
Last time this happened I tried importing the database instead of opening it, but this doesn't work either now.
User avatar
CintaNotes Developer
Site Admin
Posts: 4746
Joined: Fri Dec 12, 2008 4:45 pm
Contact:

Re: constant modal popups

Postby CintaNotes Developer » Mon Jul 14, 2014 9:34 am

Hi dordave,
Could you please start CN with the "-d" switch, get the error, and then send me the log.1.txt file?
(It will be located either near cintanotes.exe or in %APPDATA%/CintaNotes).
Thanks!
Alex
User avatar
CintaNotes Developer
Site Admin
Posts: 4746
Joined: Fri Dec 12, 2008 4:45 pm
Contact:

Re: constant modal popups

Postby CintaNotes Developer » Mon Jul 14, 2014 3:01 pm

Thanks a lot for the log!

A couple more questions:
1) Am I correct that you have CN 2.6.1?
2) Does the error happen only on exit?
3) Does the error happen only with one particular .db file?

Thanks!
Alex
dordave
Posts: 23
Joined: Tue Aug 04, 2009 6:57 pm
Contact:

Re: constant modal popups

Postby dordave » Mon Jul 14, 2014 3:37 pm

1. I tried updating to 2.7b1, didn't solve the problem (the log is from a 2.7b1 launch).
2. No, it happens constantly, from the moment I launch the program, and there is no way to get rid of the pop-up (pressing OK doesn't help). So, I can't currently use my existing notes.
3. Yes, the same problem doesn't occur with a new, empty .db (I use only one .db file, with multiple sections).
User avatar
CintaNotes Developer
Site Admin
Posts: 4746
Joined: Fri Dec 12, 2008 4:45 pm
Contact:

Re: constant modal popups

Postby CintaNotes Developer » Mon Jul 14, 2014 4:05 pm

And what happens if you try to import your old db into a new one?
Alex
dordave
Posts: 23
Joined: Tue Aug 04, 2009 6:57 pm
Contact:

Re: constant modal popups

Postby dordave » Mon Jul 14, 2014 4:34 pm

The import itself succeeds, but once I switch to one of the existing sections (from the empty Main section of the new .db file), the constant pop-ups continue.
dordave
Posts: 23
Joined: Tue Aug 04, 2009 6:57 pm
Contact:

Re: constant modal popups

Postby dordave » Mon Jul 14, 2014 4:46 pm

I think the problem might be due to a combination of my computer's setup / my program settings / and the .db file itself.
I tried loading previous versions of the .db file from dropbox, and I still get the errors.
Is it possible this has something to do with multi-monitor setup?
dordave
Posts: 23
Joined: Tue Aug 04, 2009 6:57 pm
Contact:

Re: constant modal popups

Postby dordave » Mon Jul 14, 2014 5:17 pm

It is indeed settings problem. After deleting my settings file, my .db can be opened.
dordave
Posts: 23
Joined: Tue Aug 04, 2009 6:57 pm
Contact:

Re: constant modal popups

Postby dordave » Mon Jul 14, 2014 7:11 pm

After some digging it seems the setting that's causing the errors is:
noteslist.datedisplay.mode = BOTH
(changed from the default is NONE)

This reproduces when changing the setting from the program itself as well.
User avatar
CintaNotes Developer
Site Admin
Posts: 4746
Joined: Fri Dec 12, 2008 4:45 pm
Contact:

Re: constant modal popups

Postby CintaNotes Developer » Tue Jul 15, 2014 4:18 pm

Wow, great detective work! Thanks a lot.

Still I can set this setting without any problem. So it must be a combination of
this setting and your data. Probably it's just one note that is causing problems.
Would be great if we could find it, using bisection it can be done in
lg(number_of_notes) time.

Also could you please tell me if the problem disappears if you change your
regional settings to a different date/time format?
Alex

Return to “Bug Reports”