[CantReproduce] Position/Size reset on restart (CN Beta M9 Preview 2)

Midas
Moderator
Posts: 370
Joined: Thu Jan 29, 2009 10:40 am
Contact:

[CantReproduce] Position/Size reset on restart (CN Beta M9 Preview 2)

Postby Midas » Mon May 11, 2009 10:40 am

While trying the sidebar trick found here, I seem to have found a bug:

If position/size information is not already present in CN 'cintanotes.settings' file it doesn't get recreated by this version. Can anybody confirm this? Or is my system playing up? I even tried deleting the file to have a new one generated...
:D Midas, your friendly nugget gobbler, with a message from our sponsors:

Ask questions the smart way -- see www.catb.org/~esr/faqs/
Noddy330
Posts: 354
Joined: Thu Jan 22, 2009 11:05 pm
Contact:

Re: [Bug] Position/Size reset on restart (CN Beta M9 Preview 2)

Postby Noddy330 » Mon May 11, 2009 4:54 pm

Midas wrote:While trying the sidebar trick found here, I seem to have found a bug:

If position/size information is not already present in CN 'cintanotes.settings' file it doesn't get recreated by this version. Can anybody confirm this? Or is my system playing up? I even tried deleting the file to have a new one generated...

Haven't tested your setup, but I _think_ CintaNotes lost any changes I made while it was running. Nod.
Noddy330
Posts: 354
Joined: Thu Jan 22, 2009 11:05 pm
Contact:

Re: [Bug] Position/Size reset on restart (CN Beta M9 Preview 2)

Postby Noddy330 » Mon May 11, 2009 9:54 pm

Noddy330 wrote:
Midas wrote:While trying the sidebar trick found here, I seem to have found a bug:

If position/size information is not already present in CN 'cintanotes.settings' file it doesn't get recreated by this version. Can anybody confirm this? Or is my system playing up? I even tried deleting the file to have a new one generated...

Haven't tested your setup, but I _think_ CintaNotes lost any changes I made while it was running. Nod.

Could not reproduce your problem. As above, I only made changes while CintaNotes was not running. I noted that CitaNotes, on close, alpha sorted the entries, which moved my "app.mainframe.tagsidebar.width = 125". Nod
User avatar
CintaNotes Developer
Site Admin
Posts: 4734
Joined: Fri Dec 12, 2008 4:45 pm
Contact:

Re: [Bug] Position/Size reset on restart (CN Beta M9 Preview 2)

Postby CintaNotes Developer » Thu May 14, 2009 4:45 am

Midas wrote:While trying the sidebar trick found here, I seem to have found a bug:

If position/size information is not already present in CN 'cintanotes.settings' file it doesn't get recreated by this version. Can anybody confirm this? Or is my system playing up? I even tried deleting the file to have a new one generated...


Midas, can't reproduce the problem. Do you mean the position of the main window?
Alex
Midas
Moderator
Posts: 370
Joined: Thu Jan 29, 2009 10:40 am
Contact:

Re: [Bug] Position/Size reset on restart (CN Beta M9 Preview 2)

Postby Midas » Thu May 14, 2009 11:07 am

CintaNotes Developer wrote:[...]

Midas, can't reproduce the problem. Do you mean the position of the main window?

Yeah! It was really weird, nothing I did could make the position (and note appearance, too) stick between CN sessions... :o

I finally solved it by copying an old 'cintanotes.settings' file, from a version B6 archive. All back to normal, but I am very wary of fiddling with the settings file now. :oops:

My guess is it has something to do with the encoding (ansi vs. unicode), although I tried different unicode aware editors.
:D Midas, your friendly nugget gobbler, with a message from our sponsors:

Ask questions the smart way -- see www.catb.org/~esr/faqs/

Return to “Bug Reports”