Runtime error

fairy
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Aug 21, 2014 5:14 am
Contact:

Runtime error

Postby fairy » Thu Aug 21, 2014 5:28 am

After updating my IE browser to the newest version, my CintaNotes became to runtime error.
What OS?
->Windows 7 Professional x32
What version of CintaNotes?
->Problem was showed on version 2.6. When I updated to 2.7.1, it's still the same error.
What program and version are you clipping from?
->When I tried to save new contents, there came a message said "Runtime Error! This application has requested the Runtime to terminate it in an unusual way. Please contact the application's support team for more informiation."
User avatar
CintaNotes Developer
Site Admin
Posts: 4712
Joined: Fri Dec 12, 2008 4:45 pm
Contact:

Re: Runtime error

Postby CintaNotes Developer » Thu Aug 21, 2014 5:49 am

Hi fairy,
Thanks a lot for the report!

Could you please collect some debugging information for us?

1) Run CintaNotes and activate "Help/Debug/Debug Logging"
2) Try to repeat the problem
3) This will produce the file named "log.1.txt" (either in CN folder,
or in %APPDATA%\CintaNotes) - please send it to me.

Please note that this file may contain some of your private data, such as tag
names (but no passwords). You may want to edit the file and remove this data
first.

Hope this is not too much to ask, this will make the problem evident
and we'll be able to fix it quickly. Thanks!
Alex
fairy
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Aug 21, 2014 5:14 am
Contact:

Re: Runtime error

Postby fairy » Thu Aug 21, 2014 6:01 am

Thank u for ur quick reply.
Pls refer to the attached.
Hope can resolve the problem.
fairy
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Aug 21, 2014 5:14 am
Contact:

Re: Runtime error

Postby fairy » Thu Aug 21, 2014 6:03 am

Sorry the attachment seemed not successful.
there came a error message "The extension txt is not allowed."
How can I send it to u?
User avatar
CintaNotes Developer
Site Admin
Posts: 4712
Joined: Fri Dec 12, 2008 4:45 pm
Contact:

Re: Runtime error

Postby CintaNotes Developer » Thu Aug 21, 2014 6:04 am

Yes, please send to support@cintanotes.com
Alex
fairy
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Aug 21, 2014 5:14 am
Contact:

Re: Runtime error

Postby fairy » Thu Aug 21, 2014 6:11 am

I've sent the file to u.
may help.
User avatar
CintaNotes Developer
Site Admin
Posts: 4712
Joined: Fri Dec 12, 2008 4:45 pm
Contact:

Re: Runtime error

Postby CintaNotes Developer » Thu Aug 21, 2014 8:58 am

Thanks a lot for the file!
Now the issue is clear - your database file has become corrupted.
But don't worry, usually it's easy to fix. Please do the following:

1. Exit CintaNotes
2. Rename your old database
3. Start CintaNotes
4. Import from your old (renamed) database
5. (optionally) Delete the duplicate main section
6. Recreate your search- and sort-options

Please also refer to this page for other tips how to fix this problem, if the steps above
don't help:
viewtopic.php?f=3&t=156&start=20#p7331

Please let me know if this helps! thanks
Alex
fairy
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Aug 21, 2014 5:14 am
Contact:

Re: Runtime error

Postby fairy » Thu Aug 21, 2014 9:23 am

Yes!
Miracle happens!
It works!
Thank u so~ much! :D
User avatar
CintaNotes Developer
Site Admin
Posts: 4712
Joined: Fri Dec 12, 2008 4:45 pm
Contact:

Re: Runtime error

Postby CintaNotes Developer » Thu Aug 21, 2014 9:25 am

Great, you're most welcome!
Alex

Return to “Bug Reports”